songscloset: Me with the sun flare on my face. (Default)
Well, there's this friending meme going on at LJ and I've added a bunch of people. It wouldn't hurt to have an introduction post, I guess.

Hmm. Let's see. Who am I?

I'm short, let's get that out of the way first. I'm 4'9" tall. I'm 46, with a midsummer birthday, and no difficulties with being my age. I'm not a member of the Age Is Just A Number clan, I just ... don't mind getting older. (Well, the persistent lower back ache is stupid, as is my increasing need for reading glasses.)

I was born in Manhattan, I spent a few years as a wee tot travelling around the country with my mom (I don't remember most of that), and then we settled in the California Bay Area and I haven't really left. I lived in DC for my last year of high school. I've been married and am now divorced - if you go far enough back in my journal, you might see someone named Fred. He's my ex. I've got a 24 year old daughter and three cats. Currently, I'm partners with Geordie, a strapping Northumberland Lad. We live in the Bay Area and travel around when we can. We'd like to live, we think, in or around Portland Or (or Vancouver Wa), or maybe Vermont. Or Cape Breton Island, if I write a multimillion dollar novel.

I just finished getting two Bachelor of Science degrees, one in Biochem and one in Forensic Biology. I'm hoping to get a job soon, although if anyone wants to pay me to write and do generally creative things, I guess I'm up for that as well. I like science, I like labwork, and I'm pretty willing to turn my hand to a variety of things, biochemistry-wise. What I'm really personally interested in is bioremediation, but that's a tough field to get into. Having the Cheeto as a president isn't going to make that field a growing one any time soon, although it's depressingly obvious that he's going to help make it more necessary. Maybe I'll have the experience I need to get into it when there are actual jobs. *sigh*

Politically, I'm Very Far Left. VERY left, especially compared to many in the US. I'm strongly feminist and supportive of LGBTQIA rights. I am more aligned with Millenials than Boomers, but am squarely GenX in age. Also, I'm an atheist, born and bred. I don't care if you're religious as long as you don't pressure others into following the rules of your religion.

I'm a knitter, a crocheter, a writer, a cat owner (ownee?), I draw, paint, weave, embroider, make floral hair clips and am working on getting an etsy shop up and running. I'm crap at advertising, though, which is getting in my way.

I can't think of anything else. I know there's more to know, but I guess we'll have to figure it out on the way.

OH, I'm 110 weeks into a One Chapter per Week Hobbit fanfic on AO3: Unexpected Music, a Bagginshield fic (with Mature bits), which doesn't follow canon, but is a Rock and Roll Modern AU. I've written a bunch of Potterfic as well - it's all linked on AO3, of course.

Profile

songscloset: Me with the sun flare on my face. (Default)
songscloset

September 2017

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17 181920212223
24252627282930

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Oct. 18th, 2017 10:53 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios